Deprecated: Function wp_get_loading_attr_default is deprecated since version 6.3.0! Use wp_get_loading_optimization_attributes() instead. in /home/u561382334/domains/ on line 6031

UPSC CSE: What is the eligibility for UPSC Civil Services Exam and how many times can one give the exam?

UPSC CSE Registration Eligibility Criteria?: The Civil Services Examination is organized every year by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). This exam is considered the most important and prestigious recruitment exam of the country.

Applications for this are made on the official website of UPSC, Every year lakhs of candidates appear for the Civil Services (UPSC CSE) preliminary examination of the Union Public Service Commission.

Candidates who qualify the preliminary exam are eligible to appear in the UPSC Civil Services Main exam. Then comes the round of Interview, Personality Test and Document Verification. Due to the vast syllabus and three-tier selection process of UPSC, only a few candidates qualify in the first attempt. Most of the candidates have to appear for the preliminary exam more than once to clear it.

However, the first condition of eligibility for UPSC Civil Services Examination (UPSC CSE) is that the applicant candidate must be a graduate. The second main condition is that the applicant should be within the age limit. So let us know how many attempts the candidates appearing for UPSC CSE can attempt and what is the age limit criteria?

UPSC CSE Registration Eligibility Criteria

How are attempts counted in UPSC CSE?

Suppose you applied for UPSC CSE and then did not appear in the preliminary exam, which is the first round of UPSC CSE recruitment process. In that case, it will not be counted as an attempt. But, if you appear for UPSC CSE preliminary exam, it will be counted as one attempt. Irrespective of whether the candidate has qualified or not or has qualified the prelims and has not appeared in the mains exam. Wherein, if a candidate is disqualified for any reason or his/her candidature is canceled during the examination, it is also considered to have made an attempt.

UPSC CSE: Who gets how many attempts?

  • Candidates belonging to General or Economic Weaker Section (EWS) category can appear in UPSC Civil Services Examination (UPSC CSE) maximum of 06 times.
  • For candidates belonging to OBC category and candidates with disabilities from General, EWS and OBC categories, the maximum number of attempts is 09.
  • There is no restriction on the number of attempts for SC and ST category candidates.

UPSC CSE: What is the upper age limit for which category?

General Category & EWS: 21 to 32 Years
Special Backward Classes i.e. OBC (with certificates): 21 to 35 years
SC / ST: 21 to 37 years
Physically Challenged: 21 to 42 Years
Jammu & Kashmir Domicile: 21 to 37 years (+3 years relaxation if from OBC or +5 years if from SC/ST)
Disabled and Exempted Defense Service Personnel: 21 to 35 years (+3 years relaxation if from OBC or +5 years if from SC/ST)
Ex-Servicemen Commission Officer: 21 to 37 years (+3 years relaxation if from OBC or +5 years if from SC/ST)

Sharing Is Caring:

Naukri Sandhan.Com The owner of the website is a BA student. He is always attracted towards blogging and launched this blog for providing information regarding government schemes, Job, Teach, Scholarships Something else.

Leave a Comment